Matchzone: Rangers (A)

Kilmarnock fell to a disappointing 4-1 defeat at Ibrox on Sunday May 5th.

Matty Kennedy opened the scoring after 11 minutes as he fired an effort in the net off James Tavernier.

Fabio Silva equalised with the last kick of the first half which spurred the hosts on.

Ben Davies, Tom Lawrence and John Souttar then added second half goals to secure three points for the Glasgow side.

It was a frantic start to the game as VAR checked for a Rangers penalty after just two minutes, David Dickinson was sent to the monitor but stuck with his original decision of no handball.

Kennedy then fired us in front with an effort at the back post which trickled past Jack Butland after deflecting off Tavernier.

Rangers were then awarded a penalty after a VAR check which spotted a handball on the line from Joe Wright who was in turn sent off after the check.

Will Dennis was on hand for the visitors though as he guessed correctly to save Tavernier’s penalty.

An immediate response to the red card from Derek McInnes was to take Danny Armstrong off to replenish the defence with Robbie Deas.

Rangers piled pressure on Killie for most of the closing minutes of the first half, and it paid off when in the eighth and final minute of stoppage time, Silva fired home with the last kick off the half to equalise.

Silva went close on the hour mark as his looping header fell just over the crossbar.

Rangers then got the goal that fired them ahead a couple of minutes later when Davies pounced on a rebound after a Dennis save and fired in from close range.

Mohamed Diomande thought he’d doubled Rangers’ lead after 70 minutes when his cross-come-shot smashed off the crossbar leaving Dennis helpless, but it was cleared from danger afterwards.

Lawrence then did double the lead as he smashed an effort past Dennis in the 71st minute.

Rangers then rounded it off with a fourth through Souttar in stoppage-time.

Score: Rangers 4-1 Kilmarnock

Team: Dennis, Mayo, Wright (sent off 22), Findlay, Ndaba, Armstrong (Deas 24), Polworth (Watson 66), Donnelly, Kennedy, Watkins (Lyons 66 (McKenzie 79)), Vassell (Van Veen 66)